• Click to enlarge

Tap to enlarge


Product Information

Due 30/03...Powell St. John is unquestionably one of the true founders and innovators of the acid rock sound. A listen here will leave no doubt as to why he has earned the title "Sultan Of Psychedelia".

Archival recordings of pure rootsy psychedelia by the obscure, but iconic 1960's Austin, Texas musician/songwriter who not only wrote the timeless rock classic 'Bye, Bye Baby,' but also four songs on the legendary first two 13th Floor Elevators albums, "Psychedelic Sounds" (1966) and "Easter Everywhere" (1967).

Aside from his songwriting relationship with The Elevators, Powell's musical credentials include stints with The Waller Creek Boys and a young Janis Joplin, the early Austin psych band The Conqueroo, and Mother Earth with Tracy Nelson.

Over the years, Powell's songs have been recorded by such artists as Boz Scaggs, Janis Joplin, Doug Sahm, The 13th Floor Elevators, Mother Earth and Roky Erickson. Boz called Powell a fantastic songwriter, Roky referred to him as a first-rate harmonica player and Tracy said he was "the most significant and profound and the least appreciated artist of the era."

The twelve songs on this, the first ever vinyl album of Powell's music, are a mesmerizing mix of psychedelia with basic blues influences, soulful harmonica, brilliant electric guitar that fuses trembling vibrato, effects and fuzz, some "Elevators type" jug and even some Spanish influence on at least one song. The lyrics are masterful strokes of acid-inspired, thought-provoking storytelling.

The legendary Roky Erickson joins Powell on track nine, 'Right Track Now.' Other artists participating on this album include: John Ike Walton and Ronnie Leatherman of the 13th Floor Elevators, Mary Ann Price from Dan Hicks & His Hot Licks, and Frosty Smith, drummer for Lee Michaels, Rare Earth and others.

Appropriately, 'Kingdom Of Heaven,' one of the all-time LSD anthems, starts the album.

Four page bio booklet with rare pictures

Limited vinyl pressing of 500

This is a fully licensed Lysergic Sound Distributors release, presented only as a limited vinyl release.

Comes with a glossy print of one of Powell's colorful pieces of hand drawn "fantastical" art!

Track List:

Side A: 1. Kingdom of Heaven 3:43 2. Hermanita 2:18 3. Monkey Island 2:43 4. The Clock Ran 4:40 5. I, The Fly 3:23 6. Bye, Bye Baby 3:54

Side B: 1. Slide Machine 3:30 2. I Will Forever Sing (The Blues) 4:08 3. Right Track Now 2:29 4. Given Time 3:05 5. Synthetic Love 2:50 6. You Don't Know 3:48

Product Code (NSKP4850)
Condition New

This field is required.

eCommerce by CubeCart