Tap for gallery


Product Information

This is the debut solo release by Soft Hearted Scientists front man Nathan Hall.

After releasing 7 albums, Soft Hearted Scientists are taking a well deserved year out to do other things.

On the EP he's backed  by The Sinister Locals, a mysterious changing cast of supporting characters on drums, bass, string arrangements and various electronic sound effects.

Broadly speaking, the genre is dark psychedelia, with guitars, keyboards, baroque touches and lots of electronic gadgets thrown into the mix.

Track listing:

1) Everybody's Burning Effigies A - 3 minute psychedelic pop song, bursting with harpsichords, theremins, analogue synths, a ridiculously over the top prog rock keyboard meltdown ending, and with a deceptively cheerful tune, considering that psychopaths, government corruption, the horse meat scandal and blissfully suicidal Ice Road Truckers all feature.

2) Song For The Flowers - A hymn about wishing in vain to be able to joyfully resurrect victims of genocide, and gleefully tear their persecutors to pieces. With Beach Boys harmonies and an Ivor Cutler style harmonium ending.

3) Like A Setting Sun - A mournful song about the end of an era, mixing fingerpicked guitars with gently psychedelic vocals, before drums, bass and strings go feral, rear up on their hind legs in the mix, and go into overdrive in a hypnotic end section.

4) Catacombs Of Camden Town - A call and response song between a man so frightened of the passing of time and leaving no trace behind that it sometimes paralyses him, and the common sense part of him, that says “Even the immortals are dead. Live your life, you fool.”

Product Code NATAO3BO12
Condition New

This field is required.

eCommerce by CubeCart